Announcing 2021 Schneider Prize Call for Papers

We are pleased to announce this year’s call for the Harold K. Schneider Student Prize in Economic Anthropology. The deadline is June 1, 2021. The Harold K. Schneider Prize Competition is a student paper competition established by the Society for Economic Anthropology (SEA) to honor its first president and toRead More

SEA M. Estellie Smith 2021 Dissertation Awardees

On behalf of the M. Estellie Smith Award Committee — myself, Sarah Osterhoudt, Steve Kowalewski, and Peter Finke — I’m delighted to announce to you this year’s co-winners of the M. Estellie Smith Dissertation award! They are: Gabriela Montero Mejía, University of Kentucky (advisor, Christopher Pool): Of maize and sugar:Read More

The SEA Board needs a new student rep!

Calling all Economic Anthropology Graduate Students!! It is elections time. Please consider running for the Society for Economic Anthropology Student Board Member position! And consider quickly! We need your nomination materials by Thursday (this Thursday, 25 February)! The candidate materials instructions are here. The instructions are not onerous. You haveRead More

SEA Halperin Memorial Fund 2021 Awardees

The Society for Economic Anthropology is pleased to announce the two recipients of this year’s Halperin Memorial Fund award for pre-dissertation research: Gehad Abaza, University of California, Santa Barbara, “‘An Empty Paradise’: Household Economies, Labor, and Syrian War-time Migration in Abkhazia” and Jose R. Becerra, Purdue University, “Trade-offs Between theRead More

Loading Image