SEA Book Prize

2020 Society for Economic Anthropology Book Prize Winners:

Kathleen Millar, Reclaiming the Discarded: Life and Labor on Rio’s Garbage Dump (2018), Duke University Press

Kristin Phillips, Ethnography of Hunger: Politics, Subsistence, and the Unpredictable Grace of the Sun (2018), University of Indiana Press

Mette M. High, Fear and Fortune: Spirit Worlds and Emerging Economies in the Mongolian Gold Rush (2017), Cornell University Press

Amira Mittermaier, Giving to God: Islamic Charity in Revolutionary Times (2019), University of California Press

Solen Roth, >Incorporating Culture: How Indigenous People Are Reshaping the Northwest Coast Art Industry (2018), UBC Press

Book Prize Committee:

John Millhauser (Chair), Michael Chibnik, Laura Cochrane, Sibel Kusimba, Art Murphy, Beth Notar, Colin West, Deborah Winslow

About the Society for Economic Anthropology Book Prize

The SEA Book Prize Committee looks for the best book in economic anthropology published over the last 3 years. The book prize includes a $500 award. It will be announced by the end of November 2020. The winning book will also be announced in the American Anthropological Association’s Anthropology News.

Instructions for Nominations

Deadline for nominations is TBA (2023).

Nominations must include

  1. Author(s) name(s)
  2. Book title
  3. Publication information including date and publisher
  4. A paragraph summarizing the book’s argument
  5. A brief description of how the nominated book fits into economic anthropology
  6. Contact information for person submitting the nomination (name, email, and phone number)

Authors must be SEA members at the time of their book’s submission. SEA is a member organization of the American Anthropological Association. Nonmembers whose books are nominated will have the opportunity to join the SEA to be considered for this prize.

Books must be published between May 2020 and April 2023. Books previously considered for the SEA book prize are not eligible for resubmission.

Please email nominations to the book prize committee chair (to be announced) with the subject “SEA book prize nomination.”


Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial