Harold K. Schneider Prize

2022 Schneider Prize Winners

Graduate Winning Paper
China Sajadian, City University of New York
“’A Person With a Full Stomach Doesn’t Know Anyone’: The Moral Binds of Debt in a Syrian Refugee Camp”
Faculty sponsor: Mandana Limbert

Graduate Honorable Mentions
Sandro Simon, University of Cologne
“Rhythming Volatility: Gleaning from and Salvaging for Capitalists”
Faculty sponsor: Franz Krause

Undergraduate Winning Paper
Lotte Jäger, University of Sussex
“Racial capitalism and #PayUp: A critical examination of the abandonment of Bangladeshi garment workers during the COVID-19 pandemic”
Faculty sponsor: Rebecca Prentic

Undergraduate Honorable Mention
Annalise Chelsen, University of Sussex
“I’ve Curated Myself into a Corner and I Can’t Get Out”: Sustainable Fashion Influencers Under the Attention Economy
Faculty sponsor: Christine Jeske

Previous Schneider Prize winners

The 2023 Harold K. Schneider Student Prize in Economic Anthropology


The Harold K. Schneider Prize Competition is a student paper competition established by the Society for Economic Anthropology (SEA) to honor its first president and to encourage new scholars in the field of economic anthropology. Harold Schneider, Professor of Anthropology at Indiana University, was known for both his path breaking research and his dedication as a teacher. Each year, the SEA invites both undergraduate and graduate students to submit papers on any aspect of economic anthropology or economic archaeology. Papers should contain a central thesis or argument, should be neither wholly descriptive nor wholly theoretical but, ideally, both and should be edited for clarity.

Manuscripts should be in English only and be no longer than 8,000 words, including endnotes and references, and in American Anthropologist style. The winners in both the undergraduate and graduate categories will each receive a cash prize, a certificate of achievement, and a year’s membership in the SEA. The graduate winner will also be invited to make a presentation at the annual spring meeting of the SEA.

Please submit electronic submissions only. The electronic submission must be sent in Microsoft Word format. Use your last name as the document name (example: “mauss.doc”). Please do not include your name anywhere within the text of the document, but provide all contact addresses (mail and E-mail) on the title page. If the paper includes multiple .gif or .jpg images, please include them within the text as well in a separate document labeled with your name (example: “mauss_images.doc”).

All student submissions must be accompanied by a supporting note from a faculty sponsor, which should be submitted via e-mail. Please indicate whether you are applying in the undergraduate or graduate category. Undergraduate award winners receive $150; graduate award winners receive $300.

Submissions, faculty support notes, and questions can be sent to the Schneider Prize Chair, Caroline E. Schuster, at caroline.schuster@anu.edu.au

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial